Search for Middlesex County CT marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Chester Town Clerk 203 Middlesex Turnpike Chester CT 06412 860-526-0006
Chester Town Hall 203 Middlesex Turnpike Chester CT 06412 860-526-0013
Clinton Town Clerk 54 E Main St Clinton CT 06413 860-669-9101
Clinton Town Hall 54 East Main Street Clinton CT 06413 860-669-9333
Cromwell Town Clerk 41 West Street Cromwell CT 06416 860-632-3440
Cromwell Town Health Department 41 West Street Cromwell CT 06416 860-632-3426
Deep River Town Hall 174 Main Street Deep River CT 06417 860-526-6020
Durham Town Clerk 30 Town House Road Durham CT 06422 860-349-3453
Durham Town Hall 30 Town House Road Durham CT 06422 860-349-3452
East Haddam Town Clerk 7 Main Street East Haddam CT 06423 860-873-5027
East Haddam Town Hall 7 Main Street East Haddam CT 06423 860-873-5035
East Haddam Town Health Department 7 Main St East Haddam CT 06423 860-873-5101
East Hampton Health Department 240 Middletown Avenue East Hampton CT 06424 860-267-6720
East Hampton Town Clerk 20 East High Street East Hampton CT 06424 860-267-2519
East Hampton Town Hall 20 East High Street East Hampton CT 06424 860-267-2519
Essex Town Hall 29 West Avenue Essex CT 06426 860-767-4340
Haddam Health Department 11 Jail Hill Road Haddam CT 06438 860-345-4621
Haddam Town Hall WALKLEY HILL Rd Haddam CT 06438 860-345-2769
Middlefield Town Clerk 393 Jackson Hill Road Middlefield CT 06455 860-349-7116
Middlefield Town Hall 406 Jackson Hill Road Middlefield CT 06455 860-349-3294
Middlesex County Clerk 41 Cromwell Hills Drive Cromwell CT 06416 860-632-3440
Middletown City Hall 245 deKoven Drive Middletown CT 06457 860-344-3401
Middletown Health Department 28 Crescent Street Middletown CT 06457 860-358-4070
Middletown Town Clerk 245 deKoven Drive Middletown CT 06457 860-344-3459
Old Saybrook Town Clerk 302 Main Street Old Saybrook CT 06475 860-395-3188
1. Apply where: Local vital records office or Town Clerk
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but you must apply in the town where one applicant lives or where the couple intends to marry
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 65 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and a certified decree
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Connecticut, both members of the couple must visit the Town Clerk or local vital records office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording. Once the license is recorded, the couple will receive a marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Middlesex County, Connecticut?
You will need to visit the local vital records office, typically the Town Clerk, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirements, present photo identification, and pay a fee. In Connecticut, you must apply for a marriage license in the town where at least one applicant lives, or where the couple intends to marry.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, a marriage license costs $30, regardless of residency or the city in which the license is obtained.
How old do you have to be to get married in Middlesex County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Connecticut. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge.