Search for New Haven County CT marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Ansonia Town & City Clerk 253 Main Street Ansonia CT 06401 203-736-5900
Bethany Town Clerk 40 Peck Road Bethany CT 06524 203-393-2100
Bethany Town Hall 40 Peck Road Bethany CT 06524 203-393-2100
Branford Town Clerk 1019 Main Street Branford CT 06405 203-488-6305
Branford Town Hall 1019 Main Street Branford CT 06405 203-488-8394
Cheshire Town Clerk 84 South Main Street Cheshire CT 06410 203-271-6601
Derby City Hall 1 Elizabeth St Derby CT 06418 203-736-1462
Derby Town Clerk 1 Elizabeth Street Derby CT 06418 203-736-1462
East Haven Town Clerk 250 Main Street East Haven CT 06512 203-468-3201
East Haven Town Hall 250 Main Street East Haven CT 06512 203-468-3890
East Shore Health Department 14 Business Park Drive Branford CT 06405 203-481-4233
Guilford Town Clerk 31 Park Street Guilford CT 06437 203-453-8001
Hamden Town Clerk 2750 Dixwell Avenue Hamden CT 06518 203-287-7112
Hamden Town Hall 2750 Dixwell Avenue Hamden CT 06518 203-288-4444
Madison Clerk 8 Campus Drive Madison CT 06443 203-245-5672
Madison Town Hall 8 Meeting House Lane Madison CT 06443 203-245-5667
Meriden City Clerk 142 East Main Street Meriden CT 06450 203-630-4030
Meriden City Hall 142 East Main Street Meriden CT 06450 203-630-4123
Meriden Health Department 165 Miller Street Meriden CT 06450 203-630-4226
Middlebury Town Hall 1212 Whittemore Rd Middlebury CT 06762 203-758-2557
Milford City Hall 110 River Street Milford CT 06460 203-783-3201
Milford Health Department 82 New Haven Avenue Milford CT 06460 203-783-3285
Naugatuck Town Clerk 229 Church Street Naugatuck CT 06770 203-720-7055
Naugatuck Town Hall CHURCH St Naugatuck CT 06770
New Haven City Hall 165 Church Street New Haven CT 06510 203-946-8200
1. Apply where: Local vital records office or Town Clerk
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but you must apply in the town where one applicant lives or where the couple intends to marry
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 65 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and a certified decree
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Connecticut, both members of the couple must visit the Town Clerk or local vital records office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording. Once the license is recorded, the couple will receive a marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in New Haven County, Connecticut?
You will need to visit the local vital records office, typically the Town Clerk, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirements, present photo identification, and pay a fee. In Connecticut, you must apply for a marriage license in the town where at least one applicant lives, or where the couple intends to marry.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, a marriage license costs $30, regardless of residency or the city in which the license is obtained.
How old do you have to be to get married in New Haven County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Connecticut. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge.