Search for Hartford County CT marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Hartford County Marriage License City Hall, 550 Main St., Ground Flr., Room 103 Hartford CT 06103 860-757-9690
Annex Town Hall 25 School Street East Windsor CT 06088
Avon Town Hall 60 West Main Street Avon CT 06001 860-409-4310
Berlin Town Clerk 240 Kensington Road Berlin CT 06037 860-828-7036
Berlin Town Hall 240 Kensington Road Berlin CT 06037 860-828-7000
Berlin Town Health Department 505 Silas Deane Highway Wethersfield CT 06109 860-721-2822
Bloomfield Town Hall 800 Bloomfield Avenue Bloomfield CT 06002 860-769-3500
Bristol City Hall 111 North Main Street Bristol CT 06010 860-584-6165
Burlington Town Clerk 200 Spielman Highway Burlington CT 06013 860-673-2108
Burlington Town Hall 200 Spielman Highway Burlington CT 06013 860-673-6789
Canton Town Hall 4 Market Street Canton CT 06019 860-693-7870
Connecticut Health Department 410 Capitol Avenue Hartford CT 06106 860-509-8000
East Granby Town Hall 9 Center Street East Granby CT 06026 860-653-6418
East Hartford Town Clerk 740 Main Street East Hartford CT 06108 860-291-7230
Enfield Town Hall 820 Enfield Street Enfield CT 06082 860-253-6300
Farmington Town Clerk 1 Monteith Drive Farmington CT 06032 860-675-2380
Farmington Town Hall 1 Monteith Drive Farmington CT 06032 860-675-2300
Glastonbury Town Hall 2155 Main Street Glastonbury CT 06033 860-652-7710
Glastonbury Town Health Department 2155 Main St Glastonbury CT 06033 860-652-7534
Granby Town Clerk 15 North Granby Road Granby CT 06035 860-844-5250
Hartford City Hall 550 Main Street Hartford CT 06103 860-543-8602
Hartford Clerk 101 Lafayette Street Hartford CT 06106 860-566-5298
Hartford County Clerk 800 Bloomfield Avenue Bloomfield CT 06002 860-769-3506
Hartford Health Department 131 Coventry Street Hartford CT 06112 860-543-8800
Hartford Town Clerk 550 Main Street Hartford CT 06103 860-757-9750
1. Apply where: Local vital records office or Town Clerk
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but you must apply in the town where one applicant lives or where the couple intends to marry
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 65 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and a certified decree
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Connecticut, both members of the couple must visit the Town Clerk or local vital records office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording. Once the license is recorded, the couple will receive a marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Hartford County, Connecticut?
You will need to visit the local vital records office, typically the Town Clerk, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirements, present photo identification, and pay a fee. In Connecticut, you must apply for a marriage license in the town where at least one applicant lives, or where the couple intends to marry.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, a marriage license costs $30, regardless of residency or the city in which the license is obtained.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hartford County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Connecticut. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge.