Search for Litchfield County, CT marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Litchfield County Marriage License Town Office Building, 74 West Street, P.O. Box 488 Litchfield CT 06759 860-567-7561
Barkhamsted Town Clerk 67 Ripley Hill Road Barkhamsted CT 06063 860-379-8665
Bethlehem Town Hall 36 Main Street South Bethlehem CT 06751 203-266-7510
Bridgewater Town Clerk 44 Main Street South Bridgewater CT 06752 860-354-5102
Canaan Town Clerk 108 Main Street Canaan CT 06031 860-824-0707
Goshen Town Hall 42 North Street Goshen CT 06756 860-491-2308
Harwinton Town Hall 100 Bentley Drive Northwest Harwinton CT 06791 860-485-2784
Kent Town Hall 41 Kent Green Boulevard Kent CT 06757 860-927-3433
Litchfield County Clerk 67 Ripley Hill Road Barkhamsted CT 06063 860-379-8665
Litchfield Town Clerk 74 West Street Litchfield CT 06759 860-567-7561
Litchfield Town Hall 74 West Street Litchfield CT 06759 860-567-8065
Morris Town Clerk 3 East Street Morris CT 06763 860-567-7433
Morris Town Hall 3 East Street Morris CT 06763 860-567-7433
New Hartford Town Hall 530 Main Street New Hartford CT 06057 860-379-3389
New Milford Health Department 10 Main Street New Milford CT 06776 860-355-6035
New Milford Town Hall Ste 1, 10 Main St New Milford CT 06776 860-355-6020
Norfolk Town Clerk 19 Maple Avenue Norfolk CT 06058 860-542-5679
Norfolk Town Hall 19 Maple Avenue Norfolk CT 06058 860-524-5679
North Canaan Town Hall 10 Whiting Dr Canaan CT 06018 860-824-3143
Roxbury Town Clerk 29 North Street Roxbury CT 06783 860-354-3328
Salisbury Town Clerk 27 Main St Salisbury CT 06068 860-435-5182
Sharon Town Clerk 63 Main Street Sharon CT 06069 860-364-5224
Sharon Town Hall 63 Main Street Sharon CT 06069 860-364-5789
Thomaston Town Clerk 158 Main Street Thomaston CT 06787 860-283-4141
Torrington City Clerk 140 Main Street Torrington CT 06790 860-489-2236
Torrington City Hall 140 Main Street Torrington CT 06790 860-489-2215
Warren Town Clerk 50 Cemetery Hill Road Warren CT 06796 860-868-7881
Washington Town Clerk 2 Bryan Hall Plaza Washington CT 06794 860-868-2786
Watertown Town Clerk 37 Deforest Street Watertown CT 06795 860-945-5230
Woodbury Health Department 297 Main Street South Woodbury CT 06798 203-266-4785
Woodbury Town Clerk 275 Main Street South Woodbury CT 06798 203-263-2144
Woodbury Town Hall 281 Main Street South Woodbury CT 06798 203-266-9938
1. Apply where: Local vital records office or Town Clerk
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but you must apply in the town where one applicant lives or where the couple intends to marry
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 65 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and a certified decree
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Connecticut, both members of the couple must visit the Town Clerk or local vital records office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording. Once the license is recorded, the couple will receive a marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Litchfield County, Connecticut?
You will need to visit the local vital records office, typically the Town Clerk, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirements, present photo identification, and pay a fee. In Connecticut, you must apply for a marriage license in the town where at least one applicant lives, or where the couple intends to marry.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, a marriage license costs $30, regardless of residency or the city in which the license is obtained.
How old do you have to be to get married in Litchfield County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Connecticut. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge.