Search for Windham County, CT marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Windham County Marriage License 979 Main Street Windham CT 06226 860-465-3013
Brooklyn Health Department 69 South Main Street Brooklyn CT 06239 860-774-7350
Brooklyn Town Clerk 4 Wolf Den Road Brooklyn CT 06234 860-774-9543
Brooklyn Town Hall 4 Wolf Den Road Brooklyn CT 06234 860-774-9543
Canterbury Town Hall 1 Municipal Drive Canterbury CT 06331 860-546-9377
Chaplin Town Hall 495 Phoenixville Road Chaplin CT 06235 860-455-0073
Killingly Town Hall 172 Main Street Killingly CT 06239 860-779-5300
Pomfret Town Clerk 5 Haven Rd Pomfret Center CT 06259 860-974-9135
Scotland Town Clerk 9 Devotion Road Windham CT 06280 860-423-9634
Sterling Town Clerk 1114 Plainfield Pike Sterling CT 06377 860-564-2657
Thompson Health Department 136 Main Street Killingly CT 06239 860-774-7350
Thompson Town Clerk 815 Riverside Drive Thompson CT 06255 860-923-9900
Windham County Clerk 5 Town Hall Road Ashford CT 06278 860-487-4401
Windham Town Hall 979 Main Street Windham CT 06226 860-465-3000
Woodstock Town Clerk 415 Connecticut 169 Woodstock CT 06281 860-928-6595
Woodstock Town Hall 415 Connecticut 169 Woodstock CT 06281 860-928-6929
1. Apply where: Local vital records office or Town Clerk
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but you must apply in the town where one applicant lives or where the couple intends to marry
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 65 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure and a certified decree
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Connecticut, both members of the couple must visit the Town Clerk or local vital records office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording. Once the license is recorded, the couple will receive a marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Windham County, Connecticut?
You will need to visit the local vital records office, typically the Town Clerk, to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must meet the age requirements, present photo identification, and pay a fee. In Connecticut, you must apply for a marriage license in the town where at least one applicant lives, or where the couple intends to marry.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, a marriage license costs $30, regardless of residency or the city in which the license is obtained.
How old do you have to be to get married in Windham County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Connecticut. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have written consent to marry from a Probate Court Judge.