Search for Pennsylvania marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Marriage License Bureau of the Register of Wills
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental approval and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $45-$90; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Pennsylvania, both members of the couple must visit a Marriage License Bureau at the Register of Wills Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. The commonwealth of Pennsylvania recommends that you apply for a marriage license from 2-3 weeks before your ceremony. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Pennsylvania?
You will need to visit the Marriage License Bureau at the Register of Wills Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Pennsylvania?
A marriage license can cost anywhere between $45 and $90, depending on the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in Pennsylvania?
In Pennsylvania, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Pennsylvania?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married if they obtain the consent of a parent or legal guardian. The parent must give consent in person at the Marriage License Bureau. Minors who are under the age of 16 can get married with written consent from a parent and a court order from the Orphans' Court Division of the Common Pleas.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Pennsylvania.
Who can legally marry you in Pennsylvania?
The commonwealth of Pennsylvania recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes ordained religious authorities and some government officials, such as judges, justices of peace, and mayors. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Pennsylvania.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The commonwealth of Pennsylvania does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Pennsylvania?
There is a 3 day waiting period from the application date until the marriage license is valid. You must perform a marriage ceremony before the marriage license expires, and the license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Pennsylvania marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Pennsylvania, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, and Pennsylvania requires certified proof of the end of previous marriages in the form of a divorce decree or certified annulment document. There is no requirement to provide a death certificate for deceased spouses.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Pennsylvania.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Pennsylvania?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Pennsylvania.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in Pennsylvania.
Is Pennsylvania a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Pennsylvania state or county government, the Pennsylvania Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your Insurance, Bank Accounts, Utilities, and with other companies.