Search for Idaho marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent, or under 16 with parental consent and a court order
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50; varies by county and day of the week
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Idaho, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you can perform a marriage ceremony immediately. The license does not expire; however, if you do not hold a marriage ceremony within one year of receiving the license, contact the Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics to update the license. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authority, and you will receive a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Idaho?
You will need to visit the Count Clerk or Recorder's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification with valid forms of ID, and pay a fee. The license is only valid in Idaho and it does not expire.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Idaho?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50, depending on the county and the day. Many counties raise rates on Saturdays. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Idaho?
You must reach the minimum of 18 years of age to get married in Idaho without additional consent forms. Individuals who are under 18 must have the consent of their parents, guardian, and/or a court order.
Can you get married under 18 in Idaho?
Yes. Individuals between 16 and 18 can get married with the written permission of a parent or legal guardian, or a family court order. Individuals under the age of 16 must have parental consent as well a family court order.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Idaho. However, both parties are required to read an informative document about AIDS.
Who can legally marry you in Idaho?
In Idaho, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants are typically religious authorities or government officials, including judges and public officials.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Idaho does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Idaho?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license in Idaho. You will receive the marriage license immediately after submitting valid paperwork.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
Idaho marriage licenses do not expire. However, if you do not hold a marriage ceremony within one year of being issued a marriage license, it is important to contact the Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics to update your license.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
All prior marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license, including the reason for the end of any previous marriages and the date the marriage ended.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Idaho.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Idaho?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Idaho.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. It is not legal to marry your cousin in Idaho.
Is Idaho a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Idaho.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Idaho state or county government, the Idaho Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.