Search for Kootenai County, ID marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kootenai County Marriage License 451 North Government Way Coeur d'Alene ID 83814 208-446-1480
Athol City Clerk 30355 North 3rd Street Athol ID 83801 208-683-2101
Coeur D'Alene City Clerk 710 East Mullan Avenue Coeur d'Alene ID 83814 208-769-2231
Coeur D'Alene City Hall 710 East Mullan Avenue Coeur d'Alene ID 83814 208-769-2300
Dalton Gardens City Clerk 6360 North 4th Street Dalton Gardens ID 83815 208-772-3698
Harrison City Clerk 100 Frederick Avenue Harrison ID 83833 208-689-3212
Kootenai County Clerk PO Box 9000 Coeur d'Alene ID 83816 208-446-1030
Post Falls City Hall 408 North Spokane Street Post Falls ID 83854 208-292-2314
Rathdrum City Clerk 8047 Main Street Rathdrum ID 83858 208-687-0261
Rathdrum City Hall 8047 Main Street Rathdrum ID 83858 208-687-0261
Spirit Lake City Hall 6159 West Maine Street Spirit Lake ID 83869 208-623-2131
Worley City Hall 9936 West E Street Worley ID 83876 208-686-1258
1. Apply where: County Clerk or Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent, or under 16 with parental consent and a court order
3. Cost/fees: $30-$50; varies by county and day of the week
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: Does not expire
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Idaho, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk or Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you can perform a marriage ceremony immediately. The license does not expire; however, if you do not hold a marriage ceremony within one year of receiving the license, contact the Bureau of Vital Records and Health Statistics to update the license. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the county authority, and you will receive a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Kootenai County, Idaho?
You will need to visit the Count Clerk or Recorder's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identification with valid forms of ID, and pay a fee. The license is only valid in Idaho and it does not expire.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Idaho?
A marriage license can cost between $30 and $50, depending on the county and the day. Many counties raise rates on Saturdays. The fee must be paid in cash.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kootenai County?
You must reach the minimum of 18 years of age to get married in Idaho without additional consent forms. Individuals who are under 18 must have the consent of their parents, guardian, and/or a court order.