Search for West Virginia marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $56, or $36 with premarital counseling
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in West Virginia, both members of the couple must visit the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. West Virginia residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents can apply in any county. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in West Virginia. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in West Virginia?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Residents must apply in their county of residence, and non-residents can apply in any county. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in West Virginia?
A marriage license costs $56 in the state of West Virginia. The fee is reduced to $36 with proof of at least four hours of premarital counseling.
How old do you have to be to get married in West Virginia?
In West Virginia, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in West Virginia?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married in West Virginia with the consent of both parents or legal guardians. Both parents must appear in person to sign the license, and there is a 3 day waiting period for minors to get married. If the parents are divorced, the consenting parent must bring custody papers. Minors who are under the age of 16 can only get married with parental consent and a court order.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in West Virginia.
Who can legally marry you in West Virginia?
In West Virginia, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can be religious authorities or government officials, including judges and justices. Ministers, priests, and other clergy must be certified by the Secretary of State in order to perform valid marriage ceremonies in West Virginia.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of West Virginia does not require witnesses for a marriage to be valid.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in West Virginia?
There is no waiting period to obtain a marriage license in West Virginia, except for minors, who must wait 3 days after filing the application. You must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your West Virginia marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In West Virginia, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, including the final date of any divorce decrees or the date of death for deceased spouses.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in West Virginia.
Is same-sex marriage legal in West Virginia?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in West Virginia.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in West Virginia.
Is West Virginia a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of West Virginia.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the West Virginia state or county government, the West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.