Search for Monongalia County, WV marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Monongalia County Clerk 243 High Street Morgantown WV 26505 304-291-7240
Monongalia County Health Department 453 Van Voorhis Road Morgantown WV 26505 304-598-5131
Morgantown City Clerk 389 Spruce Street Morgantown WV 26505 304-284-7439
Morgantown City Hall 389 Spruce Street Morgantown WV 26505 304-284-7439
Star City City Hall 370 Broadway Avenue Morgantown WV 26505 304-599-3407
Star City Town Hall 370 Broadway Avenue Morgantown WV 26505 304-599-3550
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $56, or $36 with premarital counseling
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in West Virginia, both members of the couple must visit the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. West Virginia residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents can apply in any county. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in West Virginia. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Monongalia County, West Virginia?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Residents must apply in their county of residence, and non-residents can apply in any county. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in West Virginia?
A marriage license costs $56 in the state of West Virginia. The fee is reduced to $36 with proof of at least four hours of premarital counseling.
How old do you have to be to get married in Monongalia County?
In West Virginia, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.