Search for Fayette County, WV marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Clay County Clerk 246 Main Street Meadow Bridge WV 25976 304-587-4259
Fayette County Clerk 100 South Court Street Fayetteville WV 25840 304-574-4213
Fayette County Health Department 1400 Virginia Street Oak Hill WV 25901 304-465-9613
Fayette County Health Department 202 Church Street Fayetteville WV 25840 304-574-1617
Fayette County Health Department 100 Church Street Fayetteville WV 25840 304-574-1617
Fayetteville Town Hall 125 North Court Street Fayetteville WV 25840 304-574-0101
Handley Town Hall 56 Fayette Pike West Montgomery WV 25136 304-442-5100
Mt Hope City Hall 609 Main Street Mount Hope WV 25880 304-877-2211
Oak Hill City Hall 100 Kelly Avenue Oak Hill WV 25901 304-469-9541
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $56, or $36 with premarital counseling
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in West Virginia, both members of the couple must visit the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. West Virginia residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents can apply in any county. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in West Virginia. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Fayette County, West Virginia?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Residents must apply in their county of residence, and non-residents can apply in any county. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in West Virginia?
A marriage license costs $56 in the state of West Virginia. The fee is reduced to $36 with proof of at least four hours of premarital counseling.
How old do you have to be to get married in Fayette County?
In West Virginia, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.