Search for Preston County, WV marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kingwood City Hall 313 Tunnelton Street Kingwood WV 26537 304-329-1225
Masontown Town Hall Midway Ave Masontown WV 26542 304-864-5555
Preston County Clerk 101 West Main Street Kingwood WV 26537 304-329-0047
Terra Alta City Hall 701 East State Avenue Terra Alta WV 26764 304-789-6664
Tunnelton City Clerk 75 Bank Street Tunnelton WV 26444 304-568-2992
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $56, or $36 with premarital counseling
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in West Virginia, both members of the couple must visit the County Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. West Virginia residents must apply in the county in which they reside. Non-residents can apply in any county. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in West Virginia. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Preston County, West Virginia?
You will need to visit the County Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Residents must apply in their county of residence, and non-residents can apply in any county. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in West Virginia?
A marriage license costs $56 in the state of West Virginia. The fee is reduced to $36 with proof of at least four hours of premarital counseling.
How old do you have to be to get married in Preston County?
In West Virginia, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.