Search for Virginia marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 for emancipated minors
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Virginia, both members of the couple must visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in the commonwealth of Virginia. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Virginia?
You will need to visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Virginia?
It costs $30 to receive a marriage license in Virginia.
How old do you have to be to get married in Virginia?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in Virginia. The only exception is for minors who have been emancipated by a court order, who can marry once they reach the age of 16.
Can you get married under 18 in Virginia?
Yes. Minors who have reached the minimum age of 16 will only be permitted to marry in Virginia if they have been legally emancipated by a court order. Emancipated minors must provide a certified copy of the order of emancipation. No other minors can legally get married in Virginia, even with parental consent.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Virginia.
Who can legally marry you in Virginia?
In Virginia, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. Officiants can include religious authorities and some government officials, such as judges and justices. Ministers, priests, and other clergy are required to receive authorization from the Circuit Court to perform marriage ceremonies.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The commonwealth of Virginia does not require witnesses for a marriage to be valid.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Virginia?
There is no waiting period to obtain a marriage license in Virginia. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Virginia marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Virginia, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, and Virginia requires certified proof of the end of previous marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Virginia.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Virginia?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Virginia.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Virginia.
Is Virginia a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the commonwealth of Virginia.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Virginia state or county government, the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.