Search for Fairfax, VA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Fairfax City Hall Rm 1, 10455 Armstrong St Fairfax VA 22030 703-385-7865
Fairfax County Clerk 12000 Government Center Parkway Fairfax VA 22035 703-385-7936
Fairfax County Clerk 10455 Armstrong Street Fairfax VA 22030 804-443-4331
Fairfax County Health Department Ste 203, 10777 Main St Fairfax VA 22030 703-246-2962
Fairfax Health Department 9901 Braddock Road Fairfax VA 22032 703-323-4000
Old Town Hall 3999 UNIVERSITY Dr Fairfax VA 22030 703-273-2377
1. Apply where: Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 for emancipated minors
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Virginia, both members of the couple must visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in the commonwealth of Virginia. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Fairfax, Virginia?
You will need to visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Virginia?
It costs $30 to receive a marriage license in Virginia.
How old do you have to be to get married in Fairfax?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in Virginia. The only exception is for minors who have been emancipated by a court order, who can marry once they reach the age of 16.