Prince William County Marriage Licenses

Search for Prince William County VA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Dumfries City Hall 17755 Main Street Dumfries VA 22026 703-221-3400


Dumfries Clerk 17755 Main Street Dumfries VA 22026 703-221-4133

Dumfries Town Hall 17755 Main Street Dumfries VA 22026 703-221-3400

Haymarket Town Hall 15000 Washington Street Haymarket VA 20169 703-754-4816

Occoquan Town Hall 314 Mill Street Occoquan VA 22125 703-491-1918

Quantico Town Clerk 337 5th Avenue Quantico VA 22134 703-640-7411

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 for emancipated minors

3. Cost/fees: $30

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Prince William County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Virginia, both members of the couple must visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in the commonwealth of Virginia. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Prince William County, Virginia?

You will need to visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Virginia?

It costs $30 to receive a marriage license in Virginia.

How old do you have to be to get married in Prince William County?

You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in Virginia. The only exception is for minors who have been emancipated by a court order, who can marry once they reach the age of 16.