Search for Fairfax County VA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Fairfax County Health Department 7200 Columbia Pike Annandale VA 22003 703-750-3316
Fairfax County Health Department 1850 Cameron Glen Drive Reston VA 20190 703-481-4242
Fairfax County Health Department 1609 Great Falls Street McLean VA 22101 703-734-1718
Herndon Town Clerk 777 Lynn Street Herndon VA 20170 703-435-6804
Herndon Town Hall 777 Lynn Street Herndon VA 20170 703-435-6800
Springfield Health Department 8136 Old Keene Mill Road West Springfield VA 22152 703-569-1031
Vienna Town Clerk 127 Center Street South Vienna VA 22180 703-255-6303
Vienna Town Hall 127 Center Street South Vienna VA 22180 703-255-6370
1. Apply where: Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 for emancipated minors
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Virginia, both members of the couple must visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in the commonwealth of Virginia. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Fairfax County, Virginia?
You will need to visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Virginia?
It costs $30 to receive a marriage license in Virginia.
How old do you have to be to get married in Fairfax County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in Virginia. The only exception is for minors who have been emancipated by a court order, who can marry once they reach the age of 16.