Search for Richmond, VA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Virginia Marriage License Vdh, Office Of Vital Records, And Health Statistics, P.O. Box 1000 Richmond VA 23218 804-662-6200
Henrico County Health Department 8600 Dixon Powers Drive Richmond VA 23228 804-501-4651
Henrico County Health Department 1400 North Laburnum Avenue Richmond VA 23223 804-652-3190
Richmond City Hall 900 E Broad St Richmond VA 23219 804-646-7500
Richmond City Health Department 400 E Cary St Richmond VA 23219 804-205-3500
Richmond County Clerk 900 E Broad St Ste 200 Richmond VA 23219 804-333-3415
Virginia Health Department 300 Turner Road Richmond VA 23225 804-674-2880
Virginia State Health Department Ste 13, 109 Governor St Richmond VA 23219 804-864-7056
1. Apply where: Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 for emancipated minors
3. Cost/fees: $30
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Virginia, both members of the couple must visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. The license is valid anywhere in the commonwealth of Virginia. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Richmond, Virginia?
You will need to visit the Office of the Clerk of the Circuit Court to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Virginia?
It costs $30 to receive a marriage license in Virginia.
How old do you have to be to get married in Richmond?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in Virginia. The only exception is for minors who have been emancipated by a court order, who can marry once they reach the age of 16.