Search for South Dakota marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 20 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Dakota, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You can also print out the Marriage License Application Worksheet online and complete it in advance. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted.
How do I get a marriage license in South Dakota?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. You can fill out the Marriage License Application Worksheet in advance or in person. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in the state of South Dakota.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Dakota?
A marriage license costs $40 in South Dakota.
How old do you have to be to get married in South Dakota?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Dakota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in South Dakota?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. The parent will need to submit a signed Parental Consent Form at the Register of Deeds Office. The minimum age to get married in South Dakota is 16.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in South Dakota.
Who can legally marry you in South Dakota?
The state of South Dakota recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as government officials, such as judges, magistrates, and mayors. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in South Dakota.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of South Dakota does not require witnesses for a marriage to be valid.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in South Dakota?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 20 days.
What do you do when your marriage license expires?
If your South Dakota marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In South Dakota, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. While there is no specific requirement to provide documentation of prior marriages, some Register of Deeds Offices may require a certified copy of any divorce decrees or a copy of the death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in South Dakota.
Is same-sex marriage legal in South Dakota?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in South Dakota.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in South Dakota.
Is South Dakota a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of South Dakota.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the South Dakota state or county government, the South Dakota Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.