Lincoln County Marriage Licenses

Search for Lincoln County SD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Canton City Hall 210 North Dakota Street Canton SD 57013 605-987-2881


Harrisburg City Hall 203 Prairie Street Harrisburg SD 57032 605-743-5872

Lennox City Hall 107 South Main Street Lennox SD 57039 605-647-2286

Lincoln County Clerk 104 North Main Street Canton SD 57013 605-987-5891

Tea City Hall 600 East 1st Street Tea SD 57064 605-498-5191

Worthing Town Hall 208 South Main Street Worthing SD 57077 605-372-4113

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $40

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 20 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Lincoln County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in South Dakota, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You can also print out the Marriage License Application Worksheet online and complete it in advance. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted.

How do I get a marriage license in Lincoln County, South Dakota?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. You can fill out the Marriage License Application Worksheet in advance or in person. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in the state of South Dakota.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Dakota?

A marriage license costs $40 in South Dakota.

How old do you have to be to get married in Lincoln County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Dakota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.