Search for Fall River County SD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Edgemont City Hall 412 2nd Avenue Edgemont SD 57735 605-662-7422
Fall River County Clerk 906 North River Street Hot Springs SD 57747 605-745-5131
Hot Spring Health Department 906 North River Street Hot Springs SD 57747 605-745-5135
Hot Springs City Hall 303 North River Street Hot Springs SD 57747 605-745-3135
Shannon County Clerk 906 North River Street Hot Springs SD 57747 605-745-5131
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 20 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Dakota, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You can also print out the Marriage License Application Worksheet online and complete it in advance. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted.
How do I get a marriage license in Fall River County, South Dakota?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. You can fill out the Marriage License Application Worksheet in advance or in person. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in the state of South Dakota.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Dakota?
A marriage license costs $40 in South Dakota.
How old do you have to be to get married in Fall River County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Dakota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.