Search for Kingsbury County, SD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Arlington City Hall 202 West Elm Street Arlington SD 57212 605-983-5251
De Smet City Hall 218 Calumet Avenue Southeast De Smet SD 57231 605-854-3731
Kingsbury County Clerk PO Box 176 De Smet SD 57231 605-854-3811
Lake Preston City Hall 111 3rd Street Northeast Lake Preston SD 57249 605-847-4402
Oldham City Hall 108 South Lillie Avenue Oldham SD 57051 605-482-8311
South Dakota Health Department 202 2nd Street Southwest De Smet SD 57231 605-854-3853
1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $40
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 20 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in South Dakota, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You can also print out the Marriage License Application Worksheet online and complete it in advance. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted.
How do I get a marriage license in Kingsbury County, South Dakota?
You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. You can fill out the Marriage License Application Worksheet in advance or in person. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in the state of South Dakota.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Dakota?
A marriage license costs $40 in South Dakota.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kingsbury County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Dakota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.