Minnehaha County Marriage Licenses

Search for Minnehaha County SD marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Baltic City Hall 130 Street Olaf Avenue Baltic SD 57003 605-529-5497


Brandon City Hall 304 Main Avenue Brandon SD 57005 605-582-8987

Colton City Hall 309 East 4th Street Colton SD 57018 605-446-3811

Dell Rapids City Hall 302 E 4th St Dell Rapids SD 57022 605-428-3595

Garretson City Hall 705 North Main Avenue Garretson SD 57030 605-594-6723

Hartford City Hall 125 North Main Avenue Hartford SD 57033 605-528-3427

Humboldt City Hall 201 South Main Street Humboldt SD 57035 605-363-3789

Humboldt Town Hall 308 W 2nd Ave Humboldt SD 57035 605-363-3016

Minnehaha County Clerk 425 North Dakota Avenue Sioux Falls SD 57104 605-367-5900

Sioux Falls City Hall 224 West 9th Street Sioux Falls SD 57104 605-367-8800

Sioux Falls Health Department 521 North Main Avenue Sioux Falls SD 57104 605-367-8760

Sioux Falls Health Department 300 S Phillips Ave Sioux Falls SD 57104 605-367-5363

South Dakota Health Department Ste 200, 1200 N West Ave Sioux Falls SD 57104 605-993-3119

Valley Springs City Hall 401 Broadway Avenue Valley Springs SD 57068 605-757-6555

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Register of Deeds Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $40

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 20 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Minnehaha County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in South Dakota, both members of the couple must visit a Register of Deeds Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You can also print out the Marriage License Application Worksheet online and complete it in advance. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority. Make sure there are no errors in the license before it is submitted.

How do I get a marriage license in Minnehaha County, South Dakota?

You will need to visit the Register of Deeds Office to apply for a marriage license. You can fill out the Marriage License Application Worksheet in advance or in person. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. The license is valid anywhere in the state of South Dakota.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in South Dakota?

A marriage license costs $40 in South Dakota.

How old do you have to be to get married in Minnehaha County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in South Dakota. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.