Search for Rhode Island marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: City or Town Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $24
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Rhode Island, both members of the couple must visit a City or Town Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office in order to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Rhode Island?
You will need to visit the City or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Rhode Island?
It costs $24 to get a marriage license in Rhode Island.
How old do you have to be to get married in Rhode Island?
In Rhode Island, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Rhode Island?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can submit a Minor's Permit to Marry. This form is available at the City or Town Clerk's Office, and requires the signature of both the minor's parents or legal guardian. Minors younger than 16 can petition the Family Court in order to receive a court order to marry.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Rhode Island.
Who can legally marry you in Rhode Island?
The state of Rhode Island recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as government officials, such as judges, magistrates, and clerks. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Rhode Island.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Rhode Island, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Rhode Island?
There is no waiting period to receive a marriage licenses in Rhode Island. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The license is valid for 90 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Rhode Island marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Rhode Island, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed on the marriage license application, and Rhode Island requires certified proof of the end of all prior marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Rhode Island.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Rhode Island?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Rhode Island.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. You can marry your cousin in Rhode Island.
Is Rhode Island a common law marriage state?
Yes. Common law marriages are recognized by the state of Rhode Island.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Rhode Island state or county government, the Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.