Search for Bristol County, RI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Barrington Marriage License 283 County Road Barrington RI 02806
Bristol Marriage License 10 Court Street Bristol RI 02809 401-253-7000
Narragansett Marriage License 25 5th Street Warren RI 02885 401-789-1044
Warren Marriage License Main Street Warren RI 02885 401-245-7340
Barrington Town Hall 283 County Road Barrington RI 02806 401-247-1900
Bristol County Clerk 10 Court Street Bristol RI 02809 401-253-7000
Bristol Town Clerk 10 Court Street Bristol RI 02809 401-253-7000
Bristol Town Hall 10 Court Street Bristol RI 02809 401-253-4880
Warren Town Hall 514 Main Street Warren RI 02885 401-245-7340
1. Apply where: City or Town Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $24
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Rhode Island, both members of the couple must visit a City or Town Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office in order to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Bristol County, Rhode Island?
You will need to visit the City or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Rhode Island?
It costs $24 to get a marriage license in Rhode Island.
How old do you have to be to get married in Bristol County?
In Rhode Island, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.