Search for Washington County, RI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Charlestown Marriage License 4540 South County Trail Charlestown RI 02813 401-364-1200
Hopkinton Marriage License 1 Townhouse Road Hopkinton RI 02833 401-377-7777
North Kingstown Marriage License 80 Boston Neck Road North Kingstown RI 02852 401-294-3331
Richmond Marriage License 5 Richmond Townhouse Road Richmond RI 02898 401-539-9000
South Kingstown Marriage License 180 High Street South Kingstown RI 02879 401-789-9331
Westerly Marriage License Broad Street Westerly RI 02891 401-348-2500
Charlestown Hall 4540 South County Trail Charlestown RI 02813 401-364-1200
Exeter Town Clerk 675 Ten Rod Road Exeter RI 02822 401-294-3891
Exeter Town Hall 675 Ten Rod Road Exeter RI 02822 401-295-7500
Hopkinton Town Hall 1 Townhouse Road Hopkinton RI 02833 401-377-7781
Narragansett Town Clerk 25 5th Avenue Narragansett Pier RI 02882 401-782-0624
Narragansett Town Hall 25 5th Avenue Narragansett Pier RI 02882 401-789-1044
New Shoreham Town Hall OLD TOWN Rd New Shoreham RI 02807 401-466-3219
North Kingstown Town Hall 80 Boston Neck Road North Kingstown RI 02852 401-294-3331
Richmond Town Clerk 5 Richmond Townhouse Road Richmond RI 02898 401-539-0230
South Kingstown Town Hall 180 High Street South Kingstown RI 02879 401-789-9331
Washington County Clerk 4800 Tower Hill Road South Kingstown RI 02879 401-782-4121
Westerly Town Hall 45 Broad Street Westerly RI 02891 401-348-2500
1. Apply where: City or Town Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $24
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Rhode Island, both members of the couple must visit a City or Town Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office in order to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Washington County, Rhode Island?
You will need to visit the City or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Rhode Island?
It costs $24 to get a marriage license in Rhode Island.
How old do you have to be to get married in Washington County?
In Rhode Island, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.