Search for Newport County, RI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Jamestown Marriage License 93 Narragansett Avenue Jamestown RI 02835 401-423-7200
Little Compton Marriage License The Commons, Box 226 Little Compton RI 02837 401-635-4400
Middletown Marriage License 350 Main Road Middletown RI 02842 401-849-5540
Newport Marriage License 43 Broadway Newport RI 02840 401-846-9600
Portsmouth Marriage License 2200 East Main Road Portsmouth RI 02871 401-683-3255
Tiverton Marriage License 343 Highland Road Tiverton RI 02878 401-625-6700
Jamestown Clerk 93 Narragansett Avenue Jamestown RI 02835 401-423-7200
Jamestown Town Hall 93 Narragansett Avenue Jamestown RI 02835 401-423-7200
Little Compton Town Clerk 40 Commons Little Compton RI 02837 401-635-4400
Middletown Clerk 350 East Main Road Middletown RI 02842 401-847-0009
Middletown Town Hall 350 East Main Road Middletown RI 02842 401-849-2898
Newport City Clerk 43 Broadway Newport RI 02840 401-845-5341
Newport City Hall 43 Broadway Newport RI 02840 401-846-9600
Newport County Clerk 45 Washington Square Newport RI 02840 401-841-8340
Portsmouth Clerk 2200 East Main Road Portsmouth RI 02871 401-683-2101
Portsmouth Town Hall 2200 E Main Rd Portsmouth RI 02871 401-683-2101
Tiverton Town Clerk 343 Highland Road Tiverton RI 02878 401-625-6703
Tiverton Town Hall 343 Highland Road Tiverton RI 02878 401-625-6700
1. Apply where: City or Town Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $24
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Rhode Island, both members of the couple must visit a City or Town Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office in order to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Newport County, Rhode Island?
You will need to visit the City or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Rhode Island?
It costs $24 to get a marriage license in Rhode Island.
How old do you have to be to get married in Newport County?
In Rhode Island, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.