Search for Kent County, RI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Coventry Marriage License 1670 Flat River Road Coventry RI 02816 401-821-6400
East Greenwich Marriage License 125 Main Street East Greenwich RI 02818 401-886-8665
Warwick Marriage License 3275 Post Road Warwick RI 02886 401-738-2000
West Greenwich Marriage License 280 Victory Highway West Greenwich RI 02817 401-392-3800
West Warwick Marriage License 1170 Main Street West Warwick RI 02893 401-822-9200
Coventry Town Hall 1670 Flat River Road Coventry RI 02816 401-821-6400
East Greenwich Town Clerk 125 Main Street East Greenwich RI 02818 401-886-8607
East Greenwich Town Hall 125 Main Street East Greenwich RI 02818 401-886-8665
Kent County Clerk 222 Quaker Lane Warwick RI 02886 401-822-6900
Warwick City Hall 3275 Post Road Warwick RI 02886 401-738-2000
West Warwick Town Hall 1170 Main Street West Warwick RI 02893 401-822-9200
1. Apply where: City or Town Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $24
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Rhode Island, both members of the couple must visit a City or Town Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the Clerk's Office in order to be recorded.
How do I get a marriage license in Kent County, Rhode Island?
You will need to visit the City or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Rhode Island?
It costs $24 to get a marriage license in Rhode Island.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kent County?
In Rhode Island, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.