Search for North Dakota marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $65
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Dakota, both members of the couple must visit a Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority.
How do I get a marriage license in North Dakota?
You will need to visit the Recorder's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Dakota?
It costs $65 to receive a marriage license in North Dakota. Some counties only accept cash payments.
How old do you have to be to get married in North Dakota?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in North Dakota. Minors are only allowed to marry with the consent of their parents or legal guardian.
Can you get married under 18 in North Dakota?
Yes. Minors who have reached the age of 16 can get married in North Dakota with parental consent. The minor's parents or legal guardian must appear in person to give written consent in order for a minor to marry. The minimum age for marriage in North Dakota is 16.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in North Dakota.
Who can legally marry you in North Dakota?
The state of North Dakota recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities and government officials, such as judges and recorders. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in North Dakota.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In North Dakota, two witnesses who are not related to the couple must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in North Dakota?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 60 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your North Dakota marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In North Dakota, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, individuals who have been divorced must sign an affidavit and present a certified copy of the divorce decree in order to receive a new marriage license.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in North Dakota.
Is same-sex marriage legal in North Dakota?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in North Dakota.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You may not marry your cousin in North Dakota.
Is North Dakota a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of North Dakota.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the North Dakota state or county government, the North Dakota Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.