McKenzie County Marriage Licenses

Search for McKenzie County ND marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Alexander City Hall 112 Manning Avenue Alexander ND 58831 701-828-3461


Arnegard City Hall 211 Highway 85 Arnegard ND 58835 701-586-3453

Mckenzie County Clerk 201 5th Street Northwest Watford ND 58854 701-444-3616

Watford City City Hall 217 4th Avenue Southeast Watford ND 58854 701-444-3486

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Recorder's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $65

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about McKenzie County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Dakota, both members of the couple must visit a Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority.

How do I get a marriage license in McKenzie County, North Dakota?

You will need to visit the Recorder's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Dakota?

It costs $65 to receive a marriage license in North Dakota. Some counties only accept cash payments.

How old do you have to be to get married in McKenzie County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in North Dakota. Minors are only allowed to marry with the consent of their parents or legal guardian.