Stark County Marriage Licenses

Search for Stark County ND marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Billings County Health Department 495 4th Street West Dickinson ND 58601 701-623-4133


Dickinson City Hall 99 2nd Street East Dickinson ND 58601 701-456-7744

Dickinson Health Department 2869 3rd Avenue West Dickinson ND 58601 701-483-1942

Gladstone City Hall 405 Cliff Street Gladstone ND 58630 701-483-4523

Richardton City Hall 112 Main Street North Richardton ND 58652 701-974-3399

South Heart City Hall 103 6th Street Northwest South Heart ND 58655 701-677-5550

Stark County Clerk 51 3rd Street East Dickinson ND 58601 701-227-3184

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: Recorder's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $65

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Stark County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in North Dakota, both members of the couple must visit a Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority.

How do I get a marriage license in Stark County, North Dakota?

You will need to visit the Recorder's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Dakota?

It costs $65 to receive a marriage license in North Dakota. Some counties only accept cash payments.

How old do you have to be to get married in Stark County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in North Dakota. Minors are only allowed to marry with the consent of their parents or legal guardian.