Search for Grant County, ND marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Elgin City Hall 305 North Main Street Elgin ND 58533 701-584-3001
Grand County Health Department N MAIN St Carson ND 58529 701-622-3591
Grant County Clerk PO Box 258 Carson ND 58529 701-622-3615
Grant County Clerk 106 2nd Avenue Northwest Leith ND 58529 701-622-3615
New Leipzig City Hall 18 1st Street East New Leipzig ND 58562 701-584-2006
1. Apply where: Recorder's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $65
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in North Dakota, both members of the couple must visit a Recorder's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. Residents must apply for a marriage license in the county in which they reside or plan to marry. Non-residents must apply in the county where they plan to marry. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper government authority.
How do I get a marriage license in Grant County, North Dakota?
You will need to visit the Recorder's Office to apply for a marriage license. You must apply in the county where you reside or plan to marry. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in North Dakota?
It costs $65 to receive a marriage license in North Dakota. Some counties only accept cash payments.
How old do you have to be to get married in Grant County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in North Dakota. Minors are only allowed to marry with the consent of their parents or legal guardian.