Search for Montana marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk of Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and a court order
3. Cost/fees: $53
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: Yes, unless both parties complete the Informed Consent Waiver
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 180 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Montana, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk of the Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording. Once the license has been recorded, the couple can receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Montana?
You will need to visit the County Clerk of the Court to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide valid proof of age and photo identification, as well as pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Montana?
A marriage license costs $53 in Montana.
How old do you have to be to get married in Montana?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years to get married in Montana. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and a court order to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Montana?
Yes. Individuals who are between the ages of 16 and 18 can get married with a court order. In order to receive judicial approval, the individual must have the consent of both parents or legal guardians and attend two counseling sessions at least ten days apart with a court-approved counselor. Finally, a district court judge must approve the marriage application.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
Yes. Montana requires women to provide proof of a Rubella blood test in order to apply for a marriage license. However, the blood test requirement is waived for women who are over the age of 50 or who can prove sterilization with a physician's letter. Both members of the couple may also waive the blood test requirement by signing the Informed Consent Waiver.
Who can legally marry you in Montana?
The state of Montana recognizes certain individuals as approved wedding officiants. This includes religious authorities as well as government officials, such as judges, mayors, and justices of the peace. Ministers, priests, and other clergy do not need to receive any special license to perform weddings in Montana.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Montana, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Montana?
There is no waiting period to get a marriage license. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 180 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Montana marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Montana, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. However, previous marriages must be disclosed, and Montana requires certified proof of the end of previous marriages in the form of a divorce decree or death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
Yes, Montana allows proxy marriages. If one party cannot appear, he or she can authorize a third party to act as a proxy. Proxy marriage is only allowed if one party is on active duty with the armed forces or is a resident of Montana.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Montana?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Montana.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. You cannot marry your cousin in Montana.
Is Montana a common law marriage state?
Yes. Common law marriages are recognized by the state of Montana.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Montana state or county government, the Montana Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.