Search for Lewis and Clark County, MT marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Lewis and Clark County Marriage License 228 East Broadway Street Helena MT 59601 406-447-8205
Montana Marriage License Department Of Health And Human Services, Vital Statistics Bureau, 111 N. Sanders, Room 205 Helena MT 59620 406-444-4228
East Helena City Hall 306 East Main Street East Helena MT 59635 406-227-5321
Helena City Hall 316 N Park Ave Helena MT 59601 406-447-8401
Helena Clerk 215 North Sanders Street Helena MT 59601 406-444-3858
Helena Health Departmental 1400 East Broadway Street Helena MT 59601 406-444-5900
Lewis And Clark County Clerk 228 East Broadway Street Helena MT 59601 406-759-5615
Montana Health Department 555 Fuller Avenue Helena MT 59601 406-444-3964
1. Apply where: County Clerk of Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and a court order
3. Cost/fees: $53
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: Yes, unless both parties complete the Informed Consent Waiver
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 180 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: Yes
14. Common Law Marriage: Yes
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Montana, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk of the Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording. Once the license has been recorded, the couple can receive a certified marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Lewis and Clark County, Montana?
You will need to visit the County Clerk of the Court to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide valid proof of age and photo identification, as well as pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Montana?
A marriage license costs $53 in Montana.
How old do you have to be to get married in Lewis and Clark County?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 years to get married in Montana. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and a court order to get married.