Carbon County Marriage Licenses

Search for Carbon County MT marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Carbon County Marriage License 102 N Broadway Red Lodge MT 59008 406-446-1225


Bridger Town Hall 108 South D Street Bridger MT 59014 406-662-3677

Carbon County District Court 102 Broadway Avenue Red Lodge MT 59068 406-446-1225

Fromberg City Hall 118 East River Street Fromberg MT 59029 406-668-7383

Red Lodge City Clerk 1 S Platt Ave Red Lodge MT 59068 406-446-1606

Yellowstone City-County Health Department 209 East Front Avenue Joliet MT 59041 406-962-9802

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Clerk of Court

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and a court order

3. Cost/fees: $53

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: Yes, unless both parties complete the Informed Consent Waiver

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: No

8. License Valid: 180 days

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation

13. Proxy Marriage: Yes

14. Common Law Marriage: Yes

Questions/Answers about Carbon County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Montana, both members of the couple must visit a County Clerk of the Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency for recording. Once the license has been recorded, the couple can receive a certified marriage certificate.

How do I get a marriage license in Carbon County, Montana?

You will need to visit the County Clerk of the Court to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must provide valid proof of age and photo identification, as well as pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Montana?

A marriage license costs $53 in Montana.

How old do you have to be to get married in Carbon County?

You must reach the minimum age of 16 years to get married in Montana. Individuals who are under 18 must have parental consent and a court order to get married.