Search for Delaware marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: The Marriage Bureau at the Clerk of the Peace Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or with the permission of Family Court for minors
3. Cost/fees: $50-$100 depending on residency
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Delaware, both members of the couple must visit a Marriage Bureau at the Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once the application is complete, the couple must wait a minimum of 24 hours before the ceremony can take place. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government agency for recording. The court will then provide the couple an official marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Delaware?
You will need to visit the Marriage Bureau at the Clerk of the Peace Office. Both members of the couple must meet the minimum age requirement, present valid photo identification, and pay a fee. There is a 24-hour waiting period before the marriage ceremony can take place.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Delaware?
The cost for a marriage license in Delaware is $50 for state residents and $100 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Delaware?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in Delaware. Individuals who are under the age of 18 may petition the Family Court for permission to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Delaware?
Yes. Individuals who are under the age of 18 can petition the Family Court for permission to marry. Each petition is examined on a case by case basis. Parental consent is not sufficient for minors to marry in Delaware.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Delaware.
Who can legally marry you in Delaware?
Only certain officiants are recognized by the state of Delaware. This includes ordained religious authorities and government officials, including Clerks of the Peace.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Delaware, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Delaware?
Marriage licenses in Delaware are provided immediately, but there is a 24-hour waiting period before the marriage ceremony may occur. Marriage licenses expires 30 days after the date of issue.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Delaware marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Delaware, individuals who have been married previously must provide official documentation regarding the end of all prior marriages. This may include certified divorce decrees or official death certificates.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Delaware.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Delaware?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Delaware.
Can you marry your cousin?
No. It is not legal to marry your cousin in Delaware.
Is Delaware a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized in Delaware.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Delaware state or county government, the Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.