Search for New Castle County, DE marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
New Castle County Marriage License Marriage Bureau, 800 N. French St., 2Nd Fl. Wilmington DE 19801 302-395-7780
Bellefonte Town Hall 901 Rosedale Avenue Wilmington DE 19809 302-761-9638
Delaware City Town Hall 407 Clinton Street Delaware DE 19706 302-834-4573
Elsmere Town Hall 11 Poplar Avenue Wilmington DE 19805 302-998-2215
Middletown Town Hall 19 West Green Street Middletown DE 19709 302-378-9120
New Castle City Hall 220 Delaware Street New Castle DE 19720 302-322-9812
New Castle County Clerk 800 North French Street Wilmington DE 19801 302-395-7730
Newark City Hall 220 South Main Street Newark DE 19711
Newport Town Hall 226 North James Street Newport DE 19804 302-994-6403
Townsend Town Hall 661 South Street Townsend DE 19734 302-378-8082
1. Apply where: The Marriage Bureau at the Clerk of the Peace Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or with the permission of Family Court for minors
3. Cost/fees: $50-$100 depending on residency
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Delaware, both members of the couple must visit a Marriage Bureau at the Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once the application is complete, the couple must wait a minimum of 24 hours before the ceremony can take place. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government agency for recording. The court will then provide the couple an official marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in New Castle County, Delaware?
You will need to visit the Marriage Bureau at the Clerk of the Peace Office. Both members of the couple must meet the minimum age requirement, present valid photo identification, and pay a fee. There is a 24-hour waiting period before the marriage ceremony can take place.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Delaware?
The cost for a marriage license in Delaware is $50 for state residents and $100 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in New Castle County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in Delaware. Individuals who are under the age of 18 may petition the Family Court for permission to get married.