Search for Kent County, DE marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Kent County Marriage License Marriage Bureau, 555 S. Bay Road Dover DE 19901 302-744-2346
Camden Town Hall 2 South Main Street Camden DE 19934 302-697-2299
Delaware Health Department 417 Federal Street Dover DE 19901 302-741-2980
Dover City Clerk 15 Loockerman Plaza Dover DE 19901 302-736-7005
Dover City Hall 15 Loockerman Plaza Dover DE 19901 302-736-7030
Felton Town Hall 24 East Sewell Street Felton DE 19943 302-284-9365
Kent County Clerk 555 South Bay Road Dover DE 19901 302-744-2346
Magnolia Town Hall E WALNUT St Magnolia DE 19962 302-335-5891
Milford City Hall S WALNUT St Milford DE 19963
Milford Health Department # 13, 11 N Church Ave Milford DE 19963 302-422-1338
Smyrna Health Department 30 Sunnyside Road Smyrna DE 19977 302-653-2870
Smyrna Town Hall 27 South Market Street Smyrna DE 19977 302-653-9231
Wyoming Town Hall 1 North Railroad Avenue Wyoming DE 19934 302-697-2966
1. Apply where: The Marriage Bureau at the Clerk of the Peace Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or with the permission of Family Court for minors
3. Cost/fees: $50-$100 depending on residency
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Delaware, both members of the couple must visit a Marriage Bureau at the Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once the application is complete, the couple must wait a minimum of 24 hours before the ceremony can take place. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government agency for recording. The court will then provide the couple an official marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Kent County, Delaware?
You will need to visit the Marriage Bureau at the Clerk of the Peace Office. Both members of the couple must meet the minimum age requirement, present valid photo identification, and pay a fee. There is a 24-hour waiting period before the marriage ceremony can take place.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Delaware?
The cost for a marriage license in Delaware is $50 for state residents and $100 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Kent County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in Delaware. Individuals who are under the age of 18 may petition the Family Court for permission to get married.