Search for Sussex County, DE marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Sussex County Marriage License Marriage Bureau, 2 The Circle, 2Nd Fl., Rm 226, P.O. Box 29 Georgetown DE 19947 302-853-1717
Blades Town Hall 20 West 4th Street Seaford DE 19973 302-629-7366
Bridgeville Town Hall 101 North Main Street Bridgeville DE 19933 302-337-7135
Dagsboro Town Hall 33134 Main Street Dagsboro DE 19939 302-732-3777
Delaware Health Department 34314 Pyle Center Road Frankford DE 19945 302-732-9512
Dewey Beach Town Hall 105 Rodney Avenue Dewey Beach DE 19971 302-227-6363
Ellendale Town Hall 300 McCaulley Ave Ellendale DE 19941 302-422-6727
Fenwick Island Town Hall 800 Coastal Hwy Fenwick Island DE 19944 302-539-3011
Frankford Town Hall 5 Main Street Frankford DE 19945 302-732-9424
Georgetown Health Department 544 South Bedford Street Georgetown DE 19947 302-856-5506
Georgetown Town Hall 39 The Circle Georgetown DE 19947 302-856-7391
Greenwood Town Hall 100 West Market Street Greenwood DE 19950 302-349-4534
Henlopen Acres Town Hall 104 Tidewater Road Rehoboth Beach DE 19971 302-227-6411
Ocean View Town Hall 201 Central Ave Ocean View DE 19970 302-539-9797
Selbyville Town Hall 68 W Church St Selbyville DE 19975 302-436-8314
South Bethany Town Hall 402 Evergreen Road South Bethany DE 19930 302-539-3653
Sussex County Clerk PO Box 29 Georgetown DE 19947 202-879-2700
1. Apply where: The Marriage Bureau at the Clerk of the Peace Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or with the permission of Family Court for minors
3. Cost/fees: $50-$100 depending on residency
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 24 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Delaware, both members of the couple must visit a Marriage Bureau at the Clerk's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once the application is complete, the couple must wait a minimum of 24 hours before the ceremony can take place. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the required government agency for recording. The court will then provide the couple an official marriage certificate.
How do I get a marriage license in Sussex County, Delaware?
You will need to visit the Marriage Bureau at the Clerk of the Peace Office. Both members of the couple must meet the minimum age requirement, present valid photo identification, and pay a fee. There is a 24-hour waiting period before the marriage ceremony can take place.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Delaware?
The cost for a marriage license in Delaware is $50 for state residents and $100 for non-residents.
How old do you have to be to get married in Sussex County?
You must reach the minimum age of 18 to get married in Delaware. Individuals who are under the age of 18 may petition the Family Court for permission to get married.