Search for Hawaii marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Department of Health
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with consent from parents and/or court order
3. Cost/fees: $60.00, plus a $5.00 administrative cost
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification 5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days, or sooner with divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Hawaii, both members of the couple must meet with a marriage license agent at the Department of Health in person to fill out the marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and file it with the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before submitting the completed marriage license. The couple will receive a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Hawaii?
You will need to arrange an in-person meeting with a marriage license agent to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identity with valid forms of identification, and pay a fee. The application form can be submitted online.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Hawaii?
In Hawaii, a marriage license costs $60.00, plus a $5.00 administrative fee.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hawaii?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Hawaii. Individuals who are under 18 will need written consent from their parents or legal guardian, and/or a family court order.
Can you get married under 18 in Hawaii?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married if they provide a consent form signed by their parents, guardian, or a family court judge. 15 year olds are permitted to marry with parental consent and a family court order.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Hawaii.
Who can legally marry you in Hawaii? In Hawaii, wedding officiants must hold a license from Hawaii's Department of Health. Officiants are typically judges, government employees, or religious authorities. Friends or family members can apply online with the Department of Health to receive a wedding officiant license.
Do you need a witness to get married?
No. The state of Hawaii does not require witnesses for a marriage.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Hawaii?
There is no waiting period to get your marriage license in Hawaii. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for 30 days.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Hawaii marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
In Hawaii, if either party had a previous marriage that ended within 30 days of applying for a new marriage license, you must present evidence that the marriage ended, such as a divorce decree or a death certificate.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Hawaii.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Hawaii?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Hawaii.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Hawaii.
Is Hawaii a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Hawaii.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Hawaii state or county government, the Hawaii Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.