Search for Hawaii County, HI marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Hawaii County Clerk 25 Aupuni Street Hilo HI 96720 808-961-8271
Hawaii Health Department 79-1015 Haukapila Street Kealakekua HI 96750 808-322-1500
Hawaii Health Department 67-5189 Kamamalu Street Waimea HI 96743 808-887-8116
Hawaii State Health Department 191 Kuawa Street Hilo HI 96720 808-974-4245
Hilo Health Department 75 Aupuni Street Hilo HI 96720 808-974-6025
Satellite City Hall 98-1005 Moanalua Rd Waimea HI 96701 808-768-5000
1. Apply where: Department of Health
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 15 with consent from parents and/or court order
3. Cost/fees: $60.00, plus a $5.00 administrative cost
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification 5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: No
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 30 days, or sooner with divorce decree or death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Hawaii, both members of the couple must meet with a marriage license agent at the Department of Health in person to fill out the marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and file it with the county authority. Make sure there are no errors before submitting the completed marriage license. The couple will receive a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Hawaii County, Hawaii?
You will need to arrange an in-person meeting with a marriage license agent to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must prove their age and identity with valid forms of identification, and pay a fee. The application form can be submitted online.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Hawaii?
In Hawaii, a marriage license costs $60.00, plus a $5.00 administrative fee.
How old do you have to be to get married in Hawaii County?
You must reach the minimum of 15 years of age to get married in Hawaii. Individuals who are under 18 will need written consent from their parents or legal guardian, and/or a family court order.