Search for Alaska marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: Bureau of Vital Statistics or Alaska Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental or guardian consent
3. Cost/fees: $60
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, or passport
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 90 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: 60 days with a divorce decree/death certificate
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Alaska, both members of the couple must visit the nearest Alaska Court (specific counties may not accept marriage applications) or Bureau of Vital Statistics office to fill out the marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay the marriage license fee. If the application is mailed or faxed, it must be certified by a Notary Public. Once you have received the marriage license, you must wait for three days before performing a marriage ceremony, and you must perform the ceremony while the license is still valid. After the ceremony, your officiant and witnesses must sign the marriage certificate and mail it to the Alaska Vital Records Section in Juneau. Make sure there are no errors before sending a completed marriage license to the state.
How do I get a marriage license in Alaska?
You can apply for a marriage license at your nearest local court or at the closest Bureau of Vital Statistics. You will need to submit a $60 marriage license fee, a photo ID, and additional documents for proof of age and previous marriages, if any.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Alaska?
The cost to get a marriage license in Alaska is $60 and is the same statewide. You can use the same license in any county, regardless of your residency.
How old do you have to be to get married in Alaska?
You must reach the minimum age of 16 to get married in Alaska. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 must have parental or guardian consent to get married.
Can you get married under 18 in Alaska?
Yes. Persons who are 16 or 17 may apply to get a marriage license in Alaska, if they provide parental consent signed by both parents. A divorce decree for a dissolved marriage or a death certificate for the deceased parent is required if either party has a single parent who acts as sole guardian. Members of the armed forces are not required to provide parental consent.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No blood test or physical exam is required for couples who wish to be married in Alaska.
Who can legally marry you in Alaska?
Marriages are solemnized by wedding officiants, including judicial officers, marriage commissioners, Salvation Army commissioned officers, or religious authorities. Any person over the age of 18, including a friend or a relative, can perform a marriage ceremony, as long as they receive a marriage commissioner appointment from the nearest Alaskan court.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. In Alaska, two witnesses over the age of 18 must be present at the marriage ceremony. These witnesses must sign the marriage license, along with the officiant and the couple.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Alaska?
It will take at least 3 business days from the application date to obtain a valid marriage license. The marriage license is valid for 90 days, and you must perform the marriage ceremony before the issued license expires. You can only use the marriage license in Alaska.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Alaska marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
If either party had a previous marriage that ended within the past 60 days, you must present evidence that the marriage ended, such as a divorce decree or a death certificate. If the marriage ended more than 60 days prior to your marriage license application, you will need to provide the name of former spouse(s), the reason the marriage ended, and the dates and location of all previous marriages.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Alaska does not permit marriage by proxy. Both parties must be present at the ceremony.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Alaska?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is permitted in Alaska.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes. It is legal to marry your first cousin in Alaska.
Is Alaska a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not valid in Alaska.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Alaska state or county government, the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.