Search for Nevada marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
1. Apply where: County Clerk's Office or Marriage License Bureau
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $35-$65; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 1 year
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes, for half cousins or second cousins
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Nevada, you must fill out a marriage license application either online or at the County Clerk's Office. If you submit your paperwork online, both members of the couple must pick up the marriage license in person at a Marriage License Bureau or County Clerk's Office. If you choose to apply in person, visit a County Clerk's Office to fill out the marriage license application. In order to receive a marriage license, you will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government office for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Nevada?
You can apply online or in person for a marriage license in Nevada. If you apply online, both members of the couple will need to pick up the license in person at a Marriage License Bureau or County Clerk's Office. You can also visit the County Clerk's Office to fill out the paperwork. One member of the couple is allowed to apply alone if the other is hospitalized or incarcerated, though additional paperwork is required. You will need to meet certain requirements, provide valid identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Nevada?
A marriage license in Nevada costs between $35 and $65, depending on the county.
How old do you have to be to get married in Nevada?
In Nevada, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.
Can you get married under 18 in Nevada?
Yes. Individuals who are between 16 and 18 can get married with the consent of one parent or legal guardian. Your parent must either come in person or provide notarized written consent, in English. Individuals who are under the age of 16 can get married with a court order. The court request must be filed by a legal parent or guardian.
Do you need a blood test to get married?
No. There is no legal requirement for a premarital blood test or physical exam in order to get married in Nevada.
Who can legally marry you in Nevada?
In Nevada, wedding officiants must be officially recognized by the state. The officiant must possess a Certificate of Permission to Perform Marriages, which can be issued by the County Clerk. Officiants can be religious authorities or certain government officials, such as notary publics.
Do you need a witness to get married?
Yes. Nevada requires at least one witness at the marriage ceremony for the marriage to be considered valid.
How long does it take to get a marriage license in Nevada?
There is no waiting period to obtain a marriage license in Nevada. However, you must get married before your marriage license expires. The marriage license is valid for one year.
What can you do when your marriage license expires?
If your Nevada marriage license expires, you must apply for a new marriage license and repeat the application procedure. You will also be required to pay the fee again.
What if you or your spouse were previously married? Widowed or divorced?
If either party is divorced or widowed, the date of the divorce or death must be provided. No additional documentation is required.
Can you get married by proxy?
No. Marriage by proxy is not permitted in Nevada.
Is same-sex marriage legal in Nevada?
Yes. Same-sex marriage is legal in Nevada.
Can you marry your cousin?
Yes, but only second cousins or half cousins are allowed to marry in Nevada. First cousins are not permitted to marry.
Is Nevada a common law marriage state?
No. Common law marriages are not recognized by the state of Nevada. However, common law marriages that predate 1943 are still recognized.
How do you change your name after getting married?
You will need to present your marriage certificate to several government entities, including the Nevada state or county government, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to receive a new license, the Social Security Administration (SSA) to update your Social Security Card, the U.S. Department of State to receive a new passport, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), and the U.S. Postal Service (USPS). Some government agencies may require a valid marriage certificate. You may also need to provide a marriage certificate to change your name on your insurance, bank accounts, utilities, and with other companies.