Search for Whatcom County, WA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Whatcom County Marriage License 311 Grand Avenue Bellingham WA 98225 360-778-5100
Bellingham City Hall 210 Lottie Street Bellingham WA 98225 360-778-8000
Blaine City Hall 435 Martin Street Blaine WA 98230 360-332-3930
Everson City Hall 111 West Main Street Everson WA 98247 360-966-3411
Ferndale City Hall 2095 Main Street Ferndale WA 98248 360-384-4302
Lynden City Clerk 300 4th Street Lynden WA 98264 360-354-1170
Lynden City Hall 323 Front Street Lynden WA 98264 360-354-4270
Nooksack City Hall 103 West Madison Street Everson WA 98247 360-966-2531
Sumas City Hall 433 Cherry St Sumas WA 98295 360-988-5711
Whatcom County Clerk 311 Grand Avenue Bellingham WA 98225 360-676-6777
Whatcom County Health Department 509 Girard Street Bellingham WA 98225 360-676-6724
1. Apply where: County Auditor's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental consent and under 17 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $57-$68; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Washington, both members of the couple must visit the County Auditor's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can begin the paperwork in advance and submit it online or by mail, but you will still have to go to the County Auditor's Office in person to receive the license. If you submit it by mail, you will have to submit a signed and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Whatcom County, Washington?
You will need to visit the County Auditor's Office to apply for a marriage license. You may be able to submit the paperwork online or by mail prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Washington?
A marriage license can cost between $57 and $68, depending on the county. The license is valid anywhere in the state of Washington.
How old do you have to be to get married in Whatcom County?
In Washington, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.