Search for Thurston County, WA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Thurston County Marriage License 2000 Lakeridge Drive Southwest Olympia WA 98502 360-786-5405
Washington Marriage License Washington Dept. Of Health, Center For Health Statistics, P.O. Box 9709 Olympia WA 360-236-4300
Bucoda Town Hall 110 Main St Bucoda WA 98530 360-278-3525
Lacey City Clerk 420 College Street Southeast Lacey WA 98503 360-491-3214
Lacey City Hall 420 College Street Southeast Lacey WA 98503 360-923-5509
Olympia City Hall 601 4th Avenue East Olympia WA 98501 360-753-8447
Rainier City Hall 102 Rochester Street West Rainier WA 98576 360-446-2265
Thurston County Clerk 2000 Lakeridge Drive Southwest Olympia WA 98502 360-786-5430
Thurston County Health Department 412 Lilly Road Northeast Olympia WA 98506 360-867-2500
Washington State Health Department 101 Israel Road Southeast Tumwater WA 98501 360-236-4501
Yelm City Hall 105 West Yelm Avenue Yelm WA 98597 360-458-8437
1. Apply where: County Auditor's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental consent and under 17 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $57-$68; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Washington, both members of the couple must visit the County Auditor's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can begin the paperwork in advance and submit it online or by mail, but you will still have to go to the County Auditor's Office in person to receive the license. If you submit it by mail, you will have to submit a signed and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Thurston County, Washington?
You will need to visit the County Auditor's Office to apply for a marriage license. You may be able to submit the paperwork online or by mail prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Washington?
A marriage license can cost between $57 and $68, depending on the county. The license is valid anywhere in the state of Washington.
How old do you have to be to get married in Thurston County?
In Washington, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.