Skagit County Marriage Licenses

Search for Skagit County WA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Skagit County Marriage License 700 South 2nd Street Mount Vernon WA 98273 360-416-1704


Anacortes City Hall 904 6th Street Anacortes WA 98221 360-293-0327

Burlington City Hall 311 Cedar Street Burlington WA 98233 360-755-2300

Concrete Town Hall 45672 Main Street Concrete WA 98237 360-853-8401

Hamilton City Hall 584 Maple Street Hamilton WA 98255 360-826-3027

La Conner Town Hall 204 Douglas Street La Conner WA 98257 360-466-3125

Lyman Town Hall 8405 South Main Street Lyman WA 98263 360-826-3033

Mount Vernon City Hall 910 Cleveland Avenue Mount Vernon WA 98273 360-336-6202

Sedro Woolley City Hall 325 Metcalf Street Sedro-Woolley WA 98284 360-855-1661

Skagit County Clerk 205 West Kincaid Street Mount Vernon WA 98273 360-336-9440

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Auditor's Office

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental consent and under 17 with a court order

3. Cost/fees: $57-$68; varies by county

4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: 60 days

9. Waiting Period: 3 days

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: No

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No

Questions/Answers about Skagit County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Washington, both members of the couple must visit the County Auditor's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can begin the paperwork in advance and submit it online or by mail, but you will still have to go to the County Auditor's Office in person to receive the license. If you submit it by mail, you will have to submit a signed and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority for recording.

How do I get a marriage license in Skagit County, Washington?

You will need to visit the County Auditor's Office to apply for a marriage license. You may be able to submit the paperwork online or by mail prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Washington?

A marriage license can cost between $57 and $68, depending on the county. The license is valid anywhere in the state of Washington.

How old do you have to be to get married in Skagit County?

In Washington, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.