Search for Pierce County, WA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Pierce County Marriage License 2401 South 35th Street Tacoma WA 98409 253-798-7427
Bonney Lake City Hall 19306 Bonney Lake Boulevard East Bonney Lake WA 98391 253-862-8602
Buckley City Hall 933 Main Street Buckley WA 98321 360-829-2659
Carbonado Town Hall 818 8th Avenue Carbonado WA 98323 360-829-0125
Du Pont City Hall 1700 Civic Drive DuPont WA 98327 253-964-8121
Eatonville Town Hall 701 Center Street West Eatonville WA 98328 360-832-3361
Gig Harbor City Hall 3510 Grandview Street Gig Harbor WA 98335 253-851-8136
Lakewood City Hall 6000 Main Street Southwest Lakewood WA 98499 253-589-2489
Milton City Hall 1000 Laurel Street Milton WA 98354 253-922-8733
Milton Town Hall 1000 Laurel Street Milton WA 98354 253-926-9514
Orting City Hall 110 Train Street Southeast Orting WA 98360 360-893-2219
Pierce County Clerk 930 Tacoma Avenue South Tacoma WA 98402 253-798-7455
Pierce County Health Department 250 Main Street Buckley WA 98321 360-829-5883
Pierce County Health Department 606 East Main Avenue Puyallup WA 98372 253-845-9177
Pierce County Health Department 3702 McKinley Avenue East Tacoma WA 98404 253-571-4344
Pierce County Health Department 2141 South J Street Tacoma WA 98405 253-571-4933
Pierce County Health Department 1503 Valley Avenue East Sumner WA 98390 253-891-6535
Pierce County Health Department 14721 Murray Road Southwest Tacoma WA 98439 253-284-9060
Puyallup City Clerk 333 South Meridian Puyallup WA 98371 253-841-5480
Puyallup City Hall 333 South Meridian Puyallup WA 98371 253-841-4321
Roy City Clerk 216 McNaught Road South Roy WA 98580 253-843-1113
Ruston Town Hall 5117 N Winnifred St Ruston WA 98407 253-759-3544
South Prairie Town Hall 121 Washington Street South Prairie WA 98385 360-897-8878
Sumner City Hall 1104 Maple Street Sumner WA 98390 253-862-8602
Tacoma City Hall 744 Market Street Tacoma WA 98402 253-238-4175
Tacoma Pierce County Health Department 3629 South D Street Tacoma WA 98418 253-798-6500
University Place City Clerk 3715 Bridgeport Way West University Place WA 98466 253-460-2500
University Place City Hall 3715 Bridgeport Way West University Place WA 98466 253-566-5656
Wilkeson Town Hall 540 Church Street Wilkeson WA 98396 360-829-0790
1. Apply where: County Auditor's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 17 with parental consent and under 17 with a court order
3. Cost/fees: $57-$68; varies by county
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: 60 days
9. Waiting Period: 3 days
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: No
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with disclosure
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Washington, both members of the couple must visit the County Auditor's Office in person to fill out a marriage license application. In some counties, you can begin the paperwork in advance and submit it online or by mail, but you will still have to go to the County Auditor's Office in person to receive the license. If you submit it by mail, you will have to submit a signed and notarized affidavit. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority for recording.
How do I get a marriage license in Pierce County, Washington?
You will need to visit the County Auditor's Office to apply for a marriage license. You may be able to submit the paperwork online or by mail prior to your visit. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay the fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Washington?
A marriage license can cost between $57 and $68, depending on the county. The license is valid anywhere in the state of Washington.
How old do you have to be to get married in Pierce County?
In Washington, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.