Search for Bergen County NJ marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Rutherford Health Department 184 Park Avenue Rutherford NJ 07070 201-460-3021
Saddle Brook Health Department 93 Market Street Saddle Brook NJ 07663 201-587-2905
Saddle Brook Town Hall 93 Market Street Saddle Brook NJ 07663 201-587-2900
Saddle River City Clerk 100 East Allendale Road Saddle River NJ 07458 201-327-2132
South Hackensack Clerk 227 Phillips Avenue South Hackensack NJ 07606 201-440-1815
Teaneck Clerk 818 Teaneck Road Teaneck NJ 07666 201-837-4811
Tenafly Borough Clerk 100 Riveredge Rd Tenafly NJ 07670 201-568-6100
Wallington Health Department 24 Union Boulevard Wallington NJ 07057 973-777-0318
Washington Township Town Clerk 350 Hudson Avenue Washington NJ 07676 201-664-4425
Wood Ridge Borough Clerk 85 Humboldt Street Wood-Ridge NJ 07075 201-939-0202
1. Apply where: Registrar of Vital Statistics at a Clerk's Office
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 with parental consent and under 16 with court order
3. Cost/fees: $28
4. Identification: driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, or military identification
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No
7. Witnesses: Yes, for the license and the ceremony
8. License Valid: 30 days
9. Waiting Period: 72 hours
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with documentation
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in New Jersey, both members of the couple must visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at the County or Town Clerk's Office to fill out a marriage license application. Residents of New Jersey must apply in the city where at least one member of the couple resides, and non-residents must apply in the location where the ceremony will take place. You will have to meet certain requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. You must also bring one witness, who is at least 18 years of age. Once the application is complete, there is a 72 hour waiting period before the marriage license is valid, and you must perform a marriage ceremony before the license expires. Your officiant will fill out the marriage license and submit it to the proper government agency to record it.
How do I get a marriage license in Bergen County, New Jersey?
You will need to visit a Registrar of Vital Statistics at a County or Town Clerk's Office to apply for a marriage license. Both members of the couple must show proof of age, provide valid photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in New Jersey?
A marriage license in New Jersey costs $28, regardless of which municipality accepts the application.
How old do you have to be to get married in Bergen County?
In New Jersey, individuals who are 18 years of age or older may get married. Individuals under the age of 18 can get married with parental consent and/or a court order, depending on their age.