Search for Wilkinson County, GA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.
Wilkinson County Marriage License 100 Bacon Street Irwinton GA 31042 912-946-2222
Allentown City Hall 1475 Allen Avenue Allentown GA 31003 478-962-0454
Danville City Hall 101 Railroad Ave Danville GA 31017 478-962-3290
Gordon City Hall 115 College Street Gordon GA 31031 478-628-2222
Gordon City Hall 108 Briarcliff Road Gordon GA 31031 478-628-9031
Ivey Town Hall 148 GA Highway 243 Ivey GA 31031 478-628-2479
McIntyre City Hall 102 Railroad Street McIntyre GA 31054 478-946-2037
Toomsboro City Hall 162 Main St Toomsboro GA 31090 478-933-5257
Wilkinson County Clerk PO Box 250 Irwinton GA 31042 478-946-2221
Wilkinson County Health Department 108 Elam St Gordon GA 31031 478-628-5353
Wilkinson County Health Department 123 High Hill Street Irwinton GA 31042 478-946-2226
1. Apply where: County Probate Court
2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 in certain counties with parental consent
3. Cost/fees: $16-$67, depending on whether the couple completes a qualifying premarital education program and whether a certified copy of the license is included
4. Identification: birth certificate, driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification card
5. Blood test / Physical Test: No
6. Residency Requirement: No, but non-residents must obtain a marriage license in the county where the marriage ceremony will be performed
7. Witnesses: Yes
8. License Valid: Indefinitely
9. Waiting Period: No
10. Same-sex marriage: Yes
11. Marriage between cousins: Yes
12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents
13. Proxy Marriage: No
14. Common Law Marriage: No, but common law marriages predating January 1, 1997 remain valid
What do you have to do to get married?
To get married in Georgia, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority. After the marriage license has been recorded, the Probate Court will issue a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.
How do I get a marriage license in Wilkinson County, Georgia?
You will need to visit the County Probate Court to apply for a marriage license. Non-residents must apply in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place. Both members of the couple must prove that they have reached the eligible age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.
How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Georgia?
The cost for a marriage license in Georgia varies from $16 to $67 depending on the county and whether the couple has complete a qualifying premarital education course.
How old do you have to be to get married in Wilkinson County?
You must reach the minimum of 18 years of age to get married in Georgia. Some counties allow individuals between 16 and 18 to marry with parental consent.