Walton County Marriage Licenses

Search for Walton County GA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Walton County Marriage License 116 South Broad Street Monroe GA 30655 770-267-1345


Loganville City Clerk 4385 Pecan Street Loganville GA 30052 770-466-4734

Loganville City Hall 2581 Leone Avenue Loganville GA 30052 770-787-0046

Monroe City Hall 139 South Madison Avenue Monroe GA 30655 770-267-4446

Monroe Environmental Health Department 126 Court Street Monroe GA 30655 770-267-1430

Social Circle City Hall 166 North Cherokee Road Social Circle GA 30025 770-464-2953

Walton County Clerk 303 South Hammond Drive Monroe GA 30655 770-267-1370

Walton County Health Department 605 Tom Brewer Road Loganville GA 30052 770-466-1789

Walton County Health Department 1404 South Madison Avenue Monroe GA 30655 770-207-4125

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Probate Court

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 in certain counties with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $16-$67, depending on whether the couple completes a qualifying premarital education program and whether a certified copy of the license is included

4. Identification: birth certificate, driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification card

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No, but non-residents must obtain a marriage license in the county where the marriage ceremony will be performed

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: Indefinitely

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No, but common law marriages predating January 1, 1997 remain valid

Questions/Answers about Walton County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Georgia, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority. After the marriage license has been recorded, the Probate Court will issue a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.

How do I get a marriage license in Walton County, Georgia?

You will need to visit the County Probate Court to apply for a marriage license. Non-residents must apply in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place. Both members of the couple must prove that they have reached the eligible age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Georgia?

The cost for a marriage license in Georgia varies from $16 to $67 depending on the county and whether the couple has complete a qualifying premarital education course.

How old do you have to be to get married in Walton County?

You must reach the minimum of 18 years of age to get married in Georgia. Some counties allow individuals between 16 and 18 to marry with parental consent.