Newton County Marriage Licenses

Search for Newton County GA marriage license rules and requirements. You can learn how to get a marriage license, a marriage certificate, or marriage records from your local Marriage License Office, Clerk, Health Department, or Town or City Hall.


Newton County Marriage License 1132 Usher Street Northwest Covington GA 30014 770-784-2045


Covington City Hall 2116 Stallings Street Northwest Covington GA 30014 770-385-2020

Mansfield Clerk 3146 Highway 11 S Mansfield GA 30055 770-786-7235

Newborn City Hall 4224 Georgia 142 Newborn GA 30056 770-787-1660

Newborn Town Hall 4224 Georgia 142 Newborn GA 30056 770-787-1660

Newton County Clerk 1124 Clark Street Southwest Covington GA 30014 678-625-1202

Newton County Health Department 8203 Hazelbrand Road Northeast Covington GA 30014 770-786-9086

Oxford City Hall 110 West Clark Street Oxford GA 30054 770-786-7004

Porterdale City Hall 2400 Main Street Porterdale GA 30014 770-786-2217

About Marriage Licenses



Marriage License Application Requirements and Process:

1. Apply where: County Probate Court

2. Minimum Age: 18, or 16 in certain counties with parental consent

3. Cost/fees: $16-$67, depending on whether the couple completes a qualifying premarital education program and whether a certified copy of the license is included

4. Identification: birth certificate, driver's license, state-issued identification, passport, military identification card

5. Blood test / Physical Test: No

6. Residency Requirement: No, but non-residents must obtain a marriage license in the county where the marriage ceremony will be performed

7. Witnesses: Yes

8. License Valid: Indefinitely

9. Waiting Period: No

10. Same-sex marriage: Yes

11. Marriage between cousins: Yes

12. Divorce/Widow: Yes, with official documents

13. Proxy Marriage: No

14. Common Law Marriage: No, but common law marriages predating January 1, 1997 remain valid

Questions/Answers about Newton County Marriage Licenses

What do you have to do to get married?

To get married in Georgia, both members of the couple must visit a County Probate Court in person to fill out a marriage license application. You will have to meet certain age requirements, provide photo identification, and pay a fee. Once you have received the marriage license, you must perform a marriage ceremony while the license is still valid. Your officiant will complete the marriage license and submit it to the proper county authority. After the marriage license has been recorded, the Probate Court will issue a certified marriage certificate as proof of marriage.

How do I get a marriage license in Newton County, Georgia?

You will need to visit the County Probate Court to apply for a marriage license. Non-residents must apply in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place. Both members of the couple must prove that they have reached the eligible age, provide photo identification, and pay a fee.

How much does it cost to get a marriage license in Georgia?

The cost for a marriage license in Georgia varies from $16 to $67 depending on the county and whether the couple has complete a qualifying premarital education course.

How old do you have to be to get married in Newton County?

You must reach the minimum of 18 years of age to get married in Georgia. Some counties allow individuals between 16 and 18 to marry with parental consent.